The economy and Homedulgence

No surprises that the current financial situation in which we find ourselves is shaping a number of trends that are pipped to emerge in ’09.  ‘Homedulgence’, a term coined by Future Laboratory trend spotters, is my personal favourite.  Those most likely to feel the impact of this burgeoning stay-at-home-and-indulge culture are the consumer technology and entertainment industries for whom Homedulgence is likely to be a blessing or a curse.

 

Homedulgence is about getting full enjoyment out of what you’ve already got rather than just staying at home more.  You might start using or make more use of your laptop to enjoy downloaded films or catch up on TV via iPlayer or 4 OD.  To create an indulgent home experience I bought a projector to wire into my games console and hi-fi to create a nifty little home entertainment system.  My console is also synched up to my laptop so that I can play my music downloads through it.  I indulge in a new game every few months (I shall be mostly playing Lego Batman) and a LoveFilm DVD each week.    

 

As Homedulgence grows as a trend another appears to be shrinking: consumers escaping the realities of economic hard times at the cinema.  The LA Times has a great article – “Hollywood may not be recession proof this time” – which looks at how canny consumers are scrapping visits to the cinema and premium cable subscriptions in favour of easily accessible entertainment online.  Yesterday’s analysis from Reuters appears to confirm that the economic turmoil is taking its toll on Hollywood studios.

 

Until media companies can gain larger revenues from online content the industry that looks most stable is the video games industry.  Games do present good long-term enjoyment for the money (did I say I am mostly playing Lego Batman) and sales are up on last quarter.  However there is some concern that post Christmas the realities of reduced consumer spending will hit home here too.

 

Dark clouds are undoubtedly ahead.  I’m going to take shelter and partake in a little Homedulgence.

2 Responses to “The economy and Homedulgence”

  1. Stacey Derbinshire Says:

    You know, I have to tell you, I really enjoy this blog and the insight from everyone who participates. I find it to be refreshing and very informative. I wish there were more blogs like it. Anyway, I felt it was about time I posted, Ive spent most of my time here just lurking and reading, but today for some reason I just felt compelled to say this.

  2. Will O'Connor Says:

    Nice. I’m a big fan of ‘Bleasure’, the process of combining business and pleasure – extending a work trip to take a couple of days holiday, taking a few liberties with your working week – some might call it blagging but it’s more a case of taking the opportunities when they appear…


Leave a Reply

